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7A player’s tee shot comes to rest on a sprinkler head very 
close to the putting green. The player measured a one 
club-length relief area from the nearest point of complete 

relief and dropped a substituted ball on the putting green. The 
ball remained within the one club-length area on the putting 
green. The player completed the hole in two more strokes and 
then played from the next hole. What is their score on the hole? 

A. 3             B. 4         C. 5           D. The player is disqualified.
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3  

A. A player is entitled to relief for a wall that is entirely out of bounds, 
provided it does not define the boundary of the course. 

B. A player is not entitled to relief for a ball lying on top of a movable 
obstruction in a penalty area. 

C.  A player is entitled to relief without penalty for interference by 
an immovable obstruction in a penalty area, provided the ball 
lies outside the penalty area.  

D. A player is entitled to relief from an immovable obstruction if 
there is interference on the player’s line of play. 

2A player’s tee shot comes to rest in a greenside bunker. 
The ball is partially buried in the sand. Their next stroke 
buries the ball deeper in the sand. The player decides 

to declare the ball unplayable and drops the ball outside the 
bunker on the back-on-the-line relief. The player completes 
the hole in two more strokes. What is their score for the hole? 

A. 5             B. 6              C. 7              D. 8 

5 In stroke play, a player’s tee shot goes into a wooded area. The 
player then searches for 2 minutes and finds their original ball 
has broken into multiple pieces. What is the ruling? 

A.  There is no penalty. The player must substitute and replace an-
other ball as near as possible on the spot where they found the 
largest piece of the original ball, and the original stroke counts.  

B. There is no penalty. The player must substitute and drop another 
ball within one club-length of where they found the largest piece 
of the original ball, and the original stroke counts.  

C.  There is no penalty. The player must play another ball from 
where the previous stroke was made, and the original stroke 
does not count.  

D.  There is no penalty. The player must play another ball from where 
the previous stroke was made, and the original stroke counts.  

6  

A. An opponent’s caddie in match play. 

B. A loose impediment. 

C.  Wind. 

D. Water. 

4 In stroke play, a player’s tee shot came to rest in a red penalty 
area. The player chose to proceed with the back-on-the-line 
relief option. The player drops their ball almost one club-

length to the side of the line. The ball rolled and came to rest on the 
line. The player played to the putting green and holed the putt. What 
is their score for the hole? 

A. 3             B. 4         C. 5           D. 6

8  

A.  The player searched for 1 minute, returned to where the 
original ball was played, and dropped and played a provi-
sional ball. The original ball is found before the 3-minute 
search time expired. 

B.  The player searched for 1 minute, returned to where the 
original ball was played, and dropped and played another 
ball without announcing it as a provisional ball. 

C.  The player’s caddie searched for 2 minutes before the player 
arrived, and the player and their caddie then searched  
together for another 2 minutes. 

D.  The player has played their provisional ball from a point 
nearer the hole than where the original ball was estimated 
to be, but then finds it (the original ball) within the 3 minute-
search time at a point nearer the hole than where they 
played the provisional ball. 

9 In stroke play, Player A and Player B both hit their tee 
shots on the putting green at a par-3 and both are a similar 
distance from the hole. Player A mistakenly marks, lifts, 

replaces and plays Player B’s ball that ends up short right of the 
hole. Player B marks and lifts Player A’s original ball and notifies 
Player A of their mistake. Player A returns Player B’s ball to its 
original location and Player B replaces Player A’s. Player A then 
holes their original ball from its original location with the next 
stroke? What is Player A’s score on the hole?   

A. 4             B. 5         C. 6           D. 7

10 After proceeding correctly in taking lateral relief 
from a red penalty area, and as the player awaits 
their turn to play, natural forces caused the ball 

to roll back into the red penalty area where it could not be  
retrieved. What is the ruling?  

A. The player must replace a new ball at the spot from where 
it was at rest after taking relief, without penalty. 

B. The player must drop a new ball at the spot from where the 
ball was at rest after taking relief, without penalty.  

C.  The player must drop a new ball at the spot from where the 
ball was at rest after taking relief, getting a one-stroke 
penalty. 

D. The player must replace a new ball at the spot from where 
it was at rest after taking relief, getting a one-stroke penalty. 

11  

A. If the original ball played from the teeing area might be out 
of bounds, a player who wishes to play a provisional ball 
must do so before leaving the teeing area. 

B. The original ball is found in bounds within 3 minutes of start-
ing to search for it. If the player decides it is unplayable, the 
provisional ball becomes the ball in play. 

C.  If the original ball played from the teeing area is known to 
be in a red penalty area, the player must either continue 
with the provisional ball under stroke and distance or take 
penalty area relief. 

D. If a player makes a stroke at a provisional ball from a spot 
nearer the hole than where the original ball is estimated to 
be, the provisional ball becomes the ball in play. 

1A player’s ball comes to rest on a red line defining a 
penalty area and is also touching sand in a bunker. Which 
area of the course does the ball lie? 

A. The ball lies in the general area. 

B. The ball lies in the bunker. 

C. The ball lies in the penalty area. 

D. The ball lies in either the bunker or penalty area. 

Which of the following is true regarding obstructions? Which of the following is an outside influence?

In which one of the following may a player’s original ball 
be played without penalty?

Which one of following statements is true about a  
provisional ball?
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15 In stroke play, the player’s tee shot comes to rest in 
the fairway a foot behind a sprinkler head. The sprin-
kler does not affect the player’s stance, lie of ball or 

area of swing for their next stroke. However, the sprinkler head 
is popped up in a position that would affect the player’s line of 
play. The player pushes the sprinkler head down with their foot 
and then plays to the putting green. What is the ruling? 

A. The player is not penalized. 

B. The player gets a one-stroke penalty. 

C.  The player gets the general penalty.  

D. The player must correct the mistake by replaying the stroke.  

18 In match play, Player A arrives at the putting green 
first and marks and lifts Player B’s ball on the putting 
green. Player B’s ball was on Player A’s line of play. 

What is the Ruling? 

A.  No penalty to Player A since they are an outside influence 
to Player B’s ball. 

B.  Player A gets a one-stroke penalty for moving Player B’s 
ball without authority.  

C.  Player A gets a two-stroke penalty for moving Player B’s 
ball without authority. 

D.  Player A loses the hole for moving player B’s ball without 
authority. 

17 In stroke play, Player A’s third stroke from the putting 
green is slowly moving past the hole when player B 
hits the ball back to Player A and says, “that’s good.” 

Player A replaces his ball from where it was hit by Player B and 
holes their next stroke. What is Player A’s score for the hole? 

A. 4                   B. 5                   C. 6                  D. 7  

16 In stroke play on the 6th hole, a player hits their tee 
shot toward some boundary stakes on the right.  
Believing that the boundary stakes are movable  

obstructions, they pull one out of the ground that was interfering 
with the area of their intended swing. They played the ball into a 
greenside bunker then took three more strokes to complete the 
hole. The player returns their scorecard with a score of 5 for the 
6th hole. Before the competition closes, the situation is brought to 
the Committee's attention. What is the ruling? 

A. The player's score of 5 stands on the 6th hole since the dis-
covery was made after the player returned their scorecard. 

B. The Committee must add the penalty strokes the player 
failed to include and revise the player's score to 7 on the 
6th hole. 

C.  The Committee must add the penalty strokes the player 
failed to include plus an additional two penalty strokes for 
returning an incorrect scorecard and revise the player's 
score to 9 on the 6th hole. 

D. The player is disqualified for failing to include the two 
penalty strokes and returning a lower score than taken on 
the 6th hole. 

Answers: 
1.    C. Rule 2.2c. The ball can lie in only one area of the course at a time. 
2.    B. Rule 19.3b. Four talent strokes and two penalty strokes. 
3.    C. Rule 16.1a (2). Definition of Obstructions, Abnormal Course Conditions. 
4.    D. Clarification 14.3b(4)/1. The ball is in a wrong place irrespective of where it 

comes to rest, even if it comes to rest on the line. The player gets a two-stroke 
penalty under Rule 14.7a. Don’t forget the original penalty stroke for relief from 
the penalty area. 

5.    C. Rule 4.2b. The player is required to cancel the stroke and play again from the 
teeing area. 

6.    B. Definition of Outside Influence and Natural Forces.  
7.    C. Rule 16.1b. The player has played from a wrong place and gets the general 

penalty under Rule 14.7a. When the ball is in the general area, the reference point 
and relief area must be in the general area.  

8.    A. Definition of Lost and Rule 18.3. The player’s original ball is in play until another 
ball is substituted or 3 minutes after the player, caddie or partner has searched 
for it.  

9.    D. Rule 6.3b and Rule 14.7. Player A substituted a ball in the wrong place twice 
and receives a total of four-penalty strokes and three talent strokes.  

10.  A. Exception 2 to Rule 9.3 states that when a ball at rest after being dropped, 
placed, or replaced (anywhere but on the putting green) under a Rule is moved 
by natural forces into another area of the course, the ball must be replaced (not 
dropped) on its original spot. 

11.  D. Definition of Provisional Ball and Rule 18. 
12.  D. Rule 4.1a(3), stickers are considered an external attachment to the club, and 

it is thereby deemed non-conforming club. Playing a stroke with a non-conforming 
club results in disqualification. 

13.  A. Rule 10.2 and Definition of Stroke 
14.  C. Rule 4.1b and Rule 23.9a(2). Partners may share clubs as long as they carry no 

more than 14 between them, Rule 23.7. Both players get the penalty for the viola-
tion.  

15.  A. Clarification 8.1/10 allows a player to put a movable part of an immovable  
obstruction back in its intended position. 

16.  B. Rule 8.1 and Exception - Rule 3.3 The player gets a two-stroke penalty for  
improving the conditions affecting the stroke and since the player didn’t know 
they incurred a penalty, the committee can add it after the scorecard has been 
returned.  

17.  C. Rule 11.2c(2) Player A was required to cancel the stroke and replay their third 
stroke. Since they did not replay the stroke, they get the general penalty and the 
stroke counts. 

18.  B. Rule 9.5b a player may not mark and lift an opponent’s ball in play without the 
authority of the opponent.

14 In four-ball stroke play, where each player is carrying 
14 clubs, Player A borrows their partner’s putter to 
make a stroke on the fourth hole. Player A returns the 

putter to their partner who uses it for the rest of the round. What is 
the ruling? 

A. There is no penalty for sharing clubs between partners. 

B. Player A gets a two-stroke penalty on the fourth hole. There 
is no penalty for their partner. 

C.  Player A and B both get a two-stroke penalty on the fourth 
hole. 

D. Player A’s score cannot count on the fourth hole and their 
partner cannot use the club for the remainder of the round.  

.  

12 A player played their first stroke of the round with 
stickers on the face of their club. They were inad-
vertently left on from a club fitting exercise from a 

few days earlier. The issue was brought to the attention of the  
Committee. What is the ruling? 

A. The player gets a two-stroke penalty and may use the club 
for the remainder of the round after removing the stickers. 

B.  The player gets a two-stroke penalty and may not use the 
club for the remainder of the round.  

C.  The player is not penalized and may use the club for the  
remainder of the round. 

D.  The player is disqualified.

13 In match play, the player’s caddie uses the flagstick 
to show the aiming point by touching the putting 
green surface. The caddie leaves the flagstick in 

place while the player takes their stance, starts the back swing, 
and then lifts it before the club moves forward for the stroke. This 
happens on the first three holes before the opponent requests a 
ruling from the Committee. What’s the ruling? 

A. The player is not penalized as the caddie moved the flagstick 
prior to the player making a stroke. 

B. The player loses each hole where the breach occurred.  

C.  The player loses the hole where the breach occurred the 
first time as it is a breach of the same rule.  

D. The player loses only the third hole since the opponent 
waited until then to make the request.  


